BACH @ Hatfield

When eminent biologist and author Lewis Thomas was asked what music he thought mankind should take to other civilizations in space he replied:
 ‘I would take the complete works of Johann Sebastian Bach
…..but that would be boasting’
Throughout the Epiphany term, Hatfield College will be hosting a series of eight recitals of J.S. Bach’s music.
They are free to the public and will last around 35 minutes each.

Epiphany Term – Fridays at 1.10pm
Durham University
Hatfield College Chapel
on the 1883 Harrison & Harrison Organ
20th:  Michael Haynes (Newcastle Cathedral)
27th: Dame Gillian Weir (International Recitalist)
3rd: Michael Stoddart (Newcastle Cathedral)
10th: James Lancelot (Durham Cathedral)
 17th: Jonathan Clinch (Durham University)
24th: Francesca Massey (Durham Cathedral)
 2nd: David Ratnanayagam (Durham Cathedral)
 9th: David Stevens (Newcastle Cathedral)




20th – Michael Haynes
Prelude in B minor, BWV 544i
Chorale Prelude: Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr 662
Fantasia in G (Pièce d’Orgue), BWV 572
Chorale Prelude: Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr 664
Fugue in B minor, BWV 544ii

27th – Dame Gillian Weir

The manualiter Chorales from the Clavier-Übung III:
Kyrie, Gott Vater in Ewigkeit, BWV 672
Christie, aller Welt Trost, BWV 673
Kyrie, Gott heilger Geist, BWV 674
Allein Gott in der Höh sie Ehr’, BWV 675
Allein Gott in der Höh sie Ehr’ – Fugetta, BWV 677
Dies sind die heil’ gen zehn Gebot’, BWV 679
Wir glauben all’ an einen Gott, BWV 681
Vater unser in Himmelreich, BWV 683
Christ unser Herr zum Jordan kam, BWV 685
Aus tiefer Not’ schrei’ ich zu dir, BWV 687
Jesus Christus unser Heiland, BWV 689
Partita sopra “Sei gegrüsset, Jesu gütig”, BWV 768


3rd – Michael Stoddart

Prelude and Fugue in G major, BWV 541
Schmücke Dich BWV 654
Dies sind die heiligen zehn Gebot BWV 678
Prelude and Fugue in A minor BWV 543

10th – James Lancelot

Einige kanonische Veränderungen über das Weihnachtslied
Vom Himmel hoch, da komm ich her, BWV 769
Contrapunctus I, II, XIII, XI (Die Kunst der Fuge), BWV 1080
17th – Jonathan Clinch

Trio Sonata no 5 in C major, BWV 529
Allegro, Largo, Allegro
Trio Sonata no 3 in D minor, BWV 527
Andante, Adagio e dolce, Vivace
Valet will ich dir geben, BWV 736


24th – Francesca Massey
Fantasia in C minor, BWV 562
O Mensch, bewein dein sünde gross, BWV 622
Aus tiefer Not schrei’ ich zu dir, BWV 686
Vater unser im Himmelreich, BWV 682
Toccata in E, BWV 566


2nd – David Ratnanayagam

Fuga in G minor BWV 578
Partite diverse sopra il chorale O Gott, du frommer Gott BWV 767
Trio Sonata No. 4 in E minor BWV 528
Adagio-vivace, Andante, Un poc’allegro
Fantasia and Fugue in C minor BWV 537
9th – David Stevens
Meine Seele erhebt den Herren, BWV 733
Ich ruf zu dir, BWV 639
Allen Gott in der Hoeh’ Sei Ehr, BWV 662
Wo soll ich fliehen, BWV 646
Nun komm der Heiden Heiland, BWV 659
Prelude and Fugue in G minor, BWV 535
This entry was posted in Organ Recital. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s